Candidates for Speaker to address MPs

June 22, 2009 at 12:07 pm Leave a comment

Ten MPs have secured enough support to stand in the election for Speaker this afternoon.

They are:

John Bercow

Sir George Young

Margaret Beckett

Ann Widdecombe

Sir Alan Beith

Parmjit Dhanda

Sir Patrick Cormack

Richard Shepherd

Sir Alan Haselhurst

Michael Lord

When the House meets at 2.30pm, each candidate will address MPs.

Then the voting begins.

The Exhaustive Ballot system will allow MPs to vote in secret for the first time.

If one candidate gains 50% or more of the votes in the secret ballot, they are the winner.

Otherwise the candidate with the least votes is eliminated and MPs will continue to vote until an outright winner is decided.

A result is not expected until at least 5pm.


Entry filed under: Commons, Procedure. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Journalists condemned for ignoring “Commons at its best” Father of the House has key role in election of new Speaker

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

Follow us on Twitter!

%d bloggers like this: